An Attempted Return

After a long hiatus, and some long thinking about whether blogging was even a worthwhile activity anymore, I’ve decided to give it another go this summer. I know I’ve been inactive for awhile, for any number of reasons (most having to do with work-related events). However, in thinking about my absence, I’ve come to appreciate how much blogging can offer, be it in keeping up with news, having a platform to think critically about events and the relation between the past and the present, and even spurring my own writing from a professional level. The main argument I always saw against keeping this site maintained was how much time it consumed that could be dedicated elsewhere, and that may again become an issue (though hopefully I can learn to rein myself in on that front). However, after no small amount of reflection, I’ve come to appreciate how the time spent on a blog is outweighed by the conversations, insights, and analyses blogging offers. Though posts may not be quite a daily event, I’m going to do my best to keep things up to date here. I know that the readership here was never extremely high, but hopefully there will be enough here worth saying, and enough that’s original, to keep those of you who always checked in regularly to do so once again. We’ll see where it heads, but for now, at least, I feel more genuinely invested in the act of blogging and, perhaps more importantly, feel more energized by what it does offer than I have for a long time. May it be rewarding for me and for those of you who graciously take some time of your day to read and converse with what goes on here.

About Colin M. Snider

I have a Ph.D. in history, specializing in Latin American History and Comparative Indigenous History. My dissertation focused on Brazil. Beyond Latin America generally, I'm particularly interested in class identities, military politics, human rights, labor, education, music, and nation. I can be found on Twitter at @ColinMSnider.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An Attempted Return

  1. mary s says:

    For what it’s worth, I’m happy that you’re back — I’m just a regular old US citizen who has visited Mexico and parts of South America, and I’ve enjoyed and learned from your blog.

Comments are closed.