On Blogging (And Absences)

Recently, Salon ran a piece on what happens “When Blogs Go Dark.” As regular readers of this site know, that has been the case for much of this summer. However, it was not out of idleness, nor was the absence born of any tragedy or trauma that prevented writing here. Rather, a series of professional obligations, including research, working on materials for a number of conferences, and working on my book, took time away from the blog. In hindsight, the break for me was one I came to enjoy, not only because it provided what I didn’t realize at the time was a respite from the occasional feeling that I needed to always be writing something (sometimes even at the expense of other projects), but also because a break from blogging for a few months revitalized my interest in and passion for writing about Latin America in a setting like this. Thus, I feel comfortable in saying that, in the coming days and weeks, blogging will resume to its generally-steady pace of postings, including features like “Get to Know a Brazilian” and “On This Date in Latin America.” That said, I do apologize for the absence, and hopefully, you’ll enjoy reading here as much as I do writing here going forward!

About Colin M. Snider

I have a Ph.D. in history, specializing in Latin American History and Comparative Indigenous History. My dissertation focused on Brazil. Beyond Latin America generally, I'm particularly interested in class identities, military politics, human rights, labor, education, music, and nation. I can be found on Twitter at @ColinMSnider.
This entry was posted in Meta-Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On Blogging (And Absences)

  1. richmx2 says:

    I understand completely. I felt overwhelmed by my own blog … and am surprised at the number of people who thought I owed them regular (daily) postings, which I just can’t do… not an have some semblance of a life, anyway.

Comments are closed.