Apparently, Miami is the new Miami of Brazil

When I lived in Rio de Janeiro, there was a relatively recently developed area that looked nothing like the rest of the city. Unlike most of Rio, Barra da Tijuca, located along the southwestern coast of Rio, had many huge private mansions often painted in pastel colors and palm trees within heavily-fenced yards, and high-rises that resembled South Beach much more than Botafogo or Central. These buildings made Barra look much more like Miami than Rio de Janeiro. It was so obvious that many Brazilians I met even called it “o Miami do Rio” (“the Miami of Rio”).

Apparently, though, things have changed somewhat, and now Miami is the Miami of Rio.

About Colin M. Snider

I have a Ph.D. in history, specializing in Latin American History and Comparative Indigenous History. My dissertation focused on Brazil. Beyond Latin America generally, I'm particularly interested in class identities, military politics, human rights, labor, education, music, and nation. I can be found on Twitter at @ColinMSnider.
This entry was posted in Brazil, United States, Urban Landscapes. Bookmark the permalink.