Individual States’ Spending on Homeland Security – Where Does Your State Rank?

I’m not terribly surprised at the top three on this list, though four and five I find mildly surprising (although upon reflection they make sense).

Also, as somebody who spent years there, I find it unsurprising yet curious that New Mexico is the one southern border state without intensive focus on homeland security; unsurprising because there aren’t many people there, it actually shares very little of the border with Mexico,  its status as a bilingual and primarily Hispanic state point to a relative lack of xenophobia compared to Arizona, and its budget issues. At the same time, it’s mildly curious to me that immigration opponents at the national level haven’t used data like this in the past to target New Mexico’s “laxness” on the issue.

About Colin M. Snider

I have a Ph.D. in history, specializing in Latin American History and Comparative Indigenous History. My dissertation focused on Brazil. Beyond Latin America generally, I'm particularly interested in class identities, military politics, human rights, labor, education, music, and nation. I can be found on Twitter at @ColinMSnider.
This entry was posted in Border Issues, Immigration, Mexico, United States. Bookmark the permalink.