On the Extinction of the Western Black Rhino

There are few things that sadden me more than the extinction of an entire species, and few things that anger me more than the fact that, had simple conservation efforts been put in place, the extinctions could have been prevented. And while the loss of the Western Black Rhino may not have much to do directly with Latin America itself, humans’ failure to act in environmental conservation of ecological habitats and the biodiversity in them certainly does.

About Colin M. Snider

I have a Ph.D. in history, specializing in Latin American History and Comparative Indigenous History. My dissertation focused on Brazil. Beyond Latin America generally, I'm particularly interested in class identities, military politics, human rights, labor, education, music, and nation. I can be found on Twitter at @ColinMSnider.
This entry was posted in Environmental Issues in the Americas. Bookmark the permalink.