A Skewed View of What “Persecution” Means

When you’re on trial for accusations of torturing, murdering, and disappearing at least two nuns, and your best defense is you were just “following orders” in murdering so-called “subversives,” I have a hard time seeing how it’s you who is being persecuted.

About Colin M. Snider

I have a Ph.D. in history, specializing in Latin American History and Comparative Indigenous History. My dissertation focused on Brazil. Beyond Latin America generally, I'm particularly interested in class identities, military politics, human rights, labor, education, music, and nation. I can be found on Twitter at @ColinMSnider.
This entry was posted in Argentina, Argentina's Military Dictatorship (1976-1983), Human Rights Issues, Human Rights Violations, Impunity. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Skewed View of What “Persecution” Means

  1. Indeed. Amazingly, as I commented on my blog the other day, it gets even more tasteless: another of the military guys has described himself as feeling like a “persecuted Jew”. http://www.clarin.com/politica/Donda-siento-judio-perseguido_0_572942836.html

  2. Pingback: Argentina’s “Angel of Death” Gets Life Sentence « Americas South and North

  3. It really is remarkable how the persecution complex emerges in those who were far more grotesque and brutal in their persecution of others. Thanks for pointing out that other story – I’d missed it.

Comments are closed.