Image of the Day – Pedro I and Brazilian Independence

The "Grito de Ipiranga" - Pedro I declares Brazilian Independence, 1822

I’m taking a page from a colleague of mine at my former haunt, and beginning an “image of the day” series of posts. I hope to do this daily, though I may eventually run out of images (or be short on time) some days, but I’m hoping to have various images from the Americas throughout this blog. Sometimes, these will have a weekly theme of some sort; other times, it will simply be images that are pertinent to what’s going on in Latin America.

That said, as a Brazilianist, it seemed appropriate to introduce the image of the day with the “Grito de Ipiranga,” the painting commemorating Pedro I declaring Brazil’s independence from Portugal by supposedly shouting “Independence or Death!” in 1822. While the painting portrays the moment as heroic and defining, in reality it was probably less glorious; Pedro I allegedly had a horrible case of diarrhea when he made the declaration, and is alleged to have been much more irritable than heroic when he made the now-famous “Shout of Ipiranga.”

About Colin M. Snider

I have a Ph.D. in history, specializing in Latin American History and Comparative Indigenous History. My dissertation focused on Brazil. Beyond Latin America generally, I'm particularly interested in class identities, military politics, human rights, labor, education, music, and nation. I can be found on Twitter at @ColinMSnider.
This entry was posted in Brazil, Image of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.